Oh, Happy Day!

2 years ago tonight, Matthew asked me to be his girlfriend (everybody, awww).  It seems like a long time, but at the same time it doesn’t.  We’ve been through the ups and downs like any couple (more ups than anything), and I never knew my best friend would be a boy (because they still have cooties).  I know for certain, however, that our relationship would not last if it hadn’t started in the right place at the right time.

Matt and I met at St. Martha’s through the Core team.  He talked to me a lot the night we met, and before I left he asked if I had a MySpace (it was still popular at the time).  I wasn’t sure if he was just being nice since I was new, but it turns out he wanted to find out if I was single!  (What a sneaky boy!) Everyone thinks it’s funny that I was the one who asked him out on a date to the B.B. King Blues Festival.  After our “non-date” that night (you’ll have to ask him) I was so excited about how easy it was to talk to him, how we had so much in common even with our different career interests, and that he was (and still is) super cute.  A couple weeks later, we were together.

All this would not have been possible without God there to guide us to each other and to bring us closer together with Him.  Because we share the same values, morals, and faith our relationship has grown stronger and we are able to plan for each others futures, even if that means we aren’t meant for forever.  That’s why I find what my friends are doing at Growing Up Lane and Visualize Love is awesome and inspiring.  Please check out Project Chase and post your video.  Matt and I will be posting ours soon.

So, Mr. Love, it’s been an exciting journey so far.  Thanks for giving me a reason to write happy songs.  Happy Anniversary.  I love you.

IMG_0082

3 Responses

  1. Aww that is so adorable Jena! Happy Anniversary to you lovebirds 🙂 God is Good.

  2. Aw! you guys are so cute! Happy Anniversary! 🙂 Amen to that Rach! God is Good!!

  3. So cute!! I remember that night… when I walked out of Chris’s and the two of you were still outside talking! :o) Happy Anniversary to you both.

Leave a comment