Wish You Were Here

I’m starting a new venture in guitar playing.  Vince, my guitar teacher, says he can see me doing more than just being a singer-songwriter.  I agree.  I like writing and singing, but sometimes it gets a little boring, and at times, unauthentic.  I’ve always had a weak spot for great songs with amazing guitar playing (maybe that’s why I like John Mayer so much), so it makes sense for me to give some great guitar playing on my record.

A song I’ve always wanted to play is Pink Floyd’s “Wish You Were Here.”  I brought the song to Vince yesterday so we could start working on it.  He recommended I start learning David Gilmour’s solos from Pink Floyd albums.  They’re not completely crazy solos, they’re just played with the kind of passion and energy you want coming out of your guitar.  Plus, Pink Floyd has some incredible records, most notably Dark Side of the Moon.

I’m going to venture into the realm of solo guitar playing.  In the meantime, I thought I would leave you with a video of “Wish You Were Here” to give you a taste of what I think is cool.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment